Figure skater Kim Yu-na qualifies for highest sports medal

Former Olympic figure skating champion Kim Yu-na will qualify for the nation’s top sports honor under revised criteria, officials said Monday.

An official with the Korean Olympic Committee (KOC) said Kim, the 2010 Olympic gold medalist in ladies’ singles, will be eligible to receive the Cheongryong (Blue Dragon) Medal under the new qualification rules.

The previous scale required the recipient to earn 1,500 points, with an Olympic gold worth 600 points, a silver worth 360 points, and a bronze good for 200 points. Medals won in other international competitions are worth less.

According to the KOC official, the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism on Monday came up with a new points system.

The Cheongryong Medal still requires 1,500 points, but an Olympic gold is now worth 800 points. A silver medal is 540 points, and a bronze is worth 320 points.

Kim had 1,424 points from her 2010 Olympic gold, 2014 Olympic silver, and seven medals won at world senior and junior championships.

Kim now has 2,050 points with the new points scale.

The government raised the requirement from 1,000 to 1,500 in 2013. And when Kim came up short, critics said there was little point of even having the medal in place when one of the nation’s most iconic stars was not eligible to earn it.

Kim received Moran Medal, the second-highest Order of Civil Merit, in 2012 for helping PyeongChang win the bid to host the 2018 Winter Olympics. A recipient of a government order may not win another medal for seven years.

However, Kim may qualify for an exception because of her special contribution to sports, and could still receive the Cheongryong Medal in 2016.

Sports medals are typically awarded on Oct. 15, the National Day of Sports.
SEOUL, July 25 (Yonhap)


‘피겨여왕’ 김연아, 청룡장 받는다

스포츠경향|김세훈 기자 

체육발전유공자에 대한 서훈 기준이 개정돼 ‘피겨 여왕’ 김연아(26)가 체육훈장 청룡장을 받을 가능성이 커졌다.

대한체육회는 “25일 문화체육관광부로부터 훈·포장 추천을 요청하는 공문을 받았다”며 “체육발전유공자 서훈 기준이 변경돼 이전 기준으로는 1등급인 청룡장을 받지 못한 김연아가 청룡장을 받을 수 있게 됐다”고 밝혔다. 2013년 강화된 체육발전유공자 서훈 기준은 1500점을 채워야 청룡장을 받을 수 있었다. 올림픽 금메달 2개(1200점), 은메달 1개(360점)를 획득해야 가능했기 때문에 지나치게 서훈 기준이 높다는 지적을 받았다.

문화체육관광부는 행정자치부와 체육발전유공자 서훈 기준 조정에 대해 협의를 진행, 최근 개선안을 도출했다. 새 기준에도 청룡장 기준은 1500점이지만 올림픽 금메달을 800점으로, 은메달을 540점으로, 동메달을 200점에서 320점으로 높였다. 김연아는 개정 이전 기준으로 1424점에 머문 게 2050점으로 늘어나 청룡장을 받을 수 있게 됐다.

체육훈장은 관례로 10월15일 체육의 날에 포상을 해왔다. 김연아도 그날 청룡장을 받을 것으로 보인다.

김연아. 사진|이선명 기자



Leave a reply

©2018 Sportisco All Rights Reserved

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?